Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

October 13, 2003 - 11:30 pm

I think the next big realization society as a whole needs to make about homosexuals is that there are many, many different varieties. A show such as Queer Eye for the Straight Guy, though ridiculous if swallowed as "reality TV", is at the very least showing people that gays are becoming a part of every day life. On the same token, though, it would be a shame if they were only ever exposed to homos such as the Fab Five and other such stereotype-solidifying characters.

I'm gay. On a scale of 1 to 10 how gay am I? I don't know. I'm not certain it's something that can be measured. I mean, I like shopping, I like fruity drinks, and I get squeamish at the sight of blood and guts. But on the other hand, I can wield almost any tool in a workshop (thanks to Mother!), don't shy away from getting my hands dirty, and can be a slob with more frequency than I will ever admit.

This afternoon a friend of mine came out to me. I went to school in Orlando with him. Really only knew him for five months. From the moment I met him I had a strange feeling that he might be gay. I never would have confessed that to anyone for the simple fact that they would have thought I was crazy. They would have thought me to be crazy because this guy doesn't know the difference between French Connection and freshly washed. He couldn't sing any selections from Cats and he couldn't make a Golden Girls reference if his life depended on it. In the five months that I knew him he wore a hat every day to avoid ever having to do his hair. But that's the magic of it all! And that's what people need to see! They need to see the diversity within the diversity!

Additionally, let me just say that pinpointing a particularly well-hidden homosexual months in advance has got to be one of the most rewarding feelings in the world.

Additionally additionally, let me just say FUCK ME I had a homo right under my nose the whole time and didn't take advantage of him the opportunity!

Ta da

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!