Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

October 11, 2003 - 2:17 pm

Yesterday was a bizarre day. It was nice, but bizarre. I got the chance to see three people that I hadn't seen in a year and half so today I get to add three new people to my cast list. We'll call them Brooquid, MuuMuu, and Burp. I'm using sobriquets to a) protect the innocent and b) use the word "burp" more often (because, though an actual burp is rather unpleasant, the word "burp" sends tingles of delight down my spine).

While sitting in my bedroom yesterday, completely bored out of my gourd, I decided to finally go through my cell phone and see whose number I still had from the restaurant I used to work at. I tried MuuMuu first, and of the three numbers I had for her, not a one was in service anymore. Then, of the three numbers I had for Brooquid, the third and final one got through! And we made plans to meet for coffee! And I was excited, because I was getting the fuck out of my house getting to see someone I hadn't seen in ages!

Upon meeting, we hugged and kissed and then she delivered the fabulous news that MuuMuu just happened to be dining down the street! Brooquid and MuuMuu and Taylor, all together again! We chitted and chatted and reminesced and caught one another up. And that's where it started getting weird. Everything was so different. Everyone was so different. This one had a baby and that one cheated on his wife and the other one's getting married. Naturally I didn't expect everyone to sit around and live stagnant lives while I was away, but it all just seemed so drastic. Essentially nothing was the same!

And then, around 10:30 last night I got a call from Burp. Burp and I have quite a history. We've known one another for 8 years, were inseparable for about 3 of those years, but hadn't spoken for the past year and a half. She needed some time to mature and I needed some time to get the hell away from her. She wrote me a letter sometime around the beginning of the year and I never wrote her back. I was dreading the inevitable bump-into, but she actually called last night and we hung out. And again! It was the same thing! Everyone and everything was so changed.

When I got home late last night I wondered how all these people had made so much progress in a short year and half while I seemingly hadn't changed at all. But when I really thought about it I could see that I have changed. Very much so, at that. It's like Kevin Kline's character said in Life as a House. Something about change being so constant that you don't even know it's happening around you. When I removed myself from the constancy of being around those people and came back a year or so later the change was apparent and obvious. I hadn't seen the process in action. I wake up in my body every day and live my life every day and therefore, it's much harder to see the changes I've made. But they're there. They're definitely there. And when I finally stopped to acknowledge them, it was nice. I didn't feel like I had been left in the dust. Not only that but I now feel like there's even more change on the horizon. Everything's so different now and there's so much more room to grow than there ever was. And that, my friends, warms the cockles o' my heart.

In completely unrelated news, I received a phone call from JoAnn boobies this morning. She is going for a job as a bartender at a gay club but she won�t get hired unless she�s a lesbian SO she needed to know what exactly a lesbian might wear to an interview. I resisted the urge to say �a flannel shirt and work boots� and told her to just dress the same as she always would because lesbians are just like you and me. Except they like the cooter.

Also, when did things change to where someone has to pretend to be a homosexual to get a job? Wasn�t it the other way around not too long ago?

Ta da

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!